Connect with us


Cristiano Ronaldo beats Salah, Messi to win player of the century award




Five-time Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo has been named Globe Soccer Awards’ Player of the Century.


PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News on News App

The 35-year-old beat arch-rival Lionel Messi and Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah to the prestigious award.


Ronaldo had more votes than the two other finalists after being voted the best player of the 2000s in the United Arab Emirates.

Having missed out on the FIFA The Best player earlier this month, the Portuguese wrapped up the year 2020 on a very high.


After receiving the accolade, the former Real Madrid and Manchester United goal machine revealed that the award will compel him to even work harder despite his advanced age. He said:

List of winners

Player of the Century – Cristiano Ronaldo

Player of the Year – Robert Lewandowski

Club of the Century – Real Madrid

PAY ATTENTION: Get the Latest Nigerian News on News App

Coach of the Century – Pep Guardiola

Agent of the Century – Jorge Mendes Globe Soccer

Player Career Award – Iker Casillas

Globe Soccer Player Career Award – Gerard Pique

Globe Club of the Year 2020 – Bayern Munich

“Being here with great champions such as Robert Lewandoski, Gerard Pique and Iker Casillas is amazing.


“Iker is an incredible example for everyone when he had his problem, he made us understand that we need to value what we have. I am 36, but I still love football, my life and my family.

“This award is giving me motivation, it’s amazing to be part of this event, this is a big honour for me.

“I hope the pandemic will be over next season and more people will be here. Thanks for his trophy, I am really happy. I hope I can continue to play for a few years.”

Meanwhile, Bayern Munich striker Lewandowski went home with the ‘Player of the Year’ prize for 2020 – adding to the already prize he has won this year.

Bayern Munich boss Hans Flick clinched the coach of the year award to crown his effort for winning five titles in the outgoing year. He beats Gian Piero Gasperini to the silverware.